Flashback : . . . Nicklas Bendtner + *Videos*

At six feet three inches tall, it’s hard to believe that Nicklas Bendtner is still only 16 years of age.

What is just as impressive is that the powerfully built young Dane has the touch, control and agility that belies his sizeable frame.

Before I came to Arsenal I tended to play as the second centre-forward. I have also played half a season as a centre-back but it is as a striker that I believe that I am at my best. People have said that I have good control for a tall player but that’s the way it has always been for me. I don’t think it is because I have played in midfield and other positions that I have developed my control and passing, I think it is because I could play well with the ball at my feet that I was put in those positions in the first place.

Should, as is hoped, the chant, “there’s only one Nicky Bendtner,” one day resound around our new stadium, no truer words will have been sung in a football stadium.

The 17 year-old Dane is a mix between the old traditional English centre-forward and the more modern technically astute athlete of a striker. For a player who will not be 18 years of age until January, he cuts a colossal figure at over 6′ 3″, is a threat in the air but has good pace with and without the ball. Nicklas has an eye for goal and a pass and is quite possibly the quintessential all-round striker of which there are not too many, if any, of his type in the Premiership and beyond: “I think that is quite true,” he agrees.



Cheers – Matthew Collins

Posted on November 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi, I check your blog on a regular basis. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep it up!

  2. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and
    it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish
    to suggest you few interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read more things about it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

