Bendtner Signs New Contract, Wenger Praise and Prefered Position

7751595

Nicklas Bendtner has this week commited his long term future to Arsenal Football Club. Nicklas Bendtner, 21 whos contract was due to run out next year has put pen to paper on a deal. The last 12 months have been a very big year in Bendtner’s development he is now getting more first team chances and is a cert for the Danish starting XI.

Arsene Wenger earlier this week showed his delight when Nicklas signed the new long term deal and he said . . .

Nicklas has impressed me highly with his application and determination over the last season, you can see that he wants to compete at the highest level and win things with his team-mates. He scored a number of important goals for us last season and he will look to replicate that again this year.  However, it’s not just about the goals, his all round contribution has improved  and will continue to do so.  I’m very pleased that he will be part of the team for years to come.

Nicklas also commented on the matter . . .

It means a lot that I can commit my future to Arsenal because I have a great affection for this Club. I’ve been here for five years now, and my development both on and off the pitch as a player and person is thanks to Arsène Wenger and the team here. We’ve got a group of players that is capable of achieving great success, and I am really excited to be a part of it.

Nicklas has spoken out today about his new right winger position and the positives and negatives about playing there. He made clear that he does prefer to be playing in the centre forward position in the near future but is content wherever Arsene deploys him he said . . .

“I am an attacker, not a winger,” Bendtner said in Berlingske Tidene.

“I have always seen myself as a striker and it is my goal to play as a striker all the time.

“It is important for me to play and when Arsene tells me to play a position I’ll do that.

“Last season I played a lot from the left side and this season it’s been on the right side but, like I said, I prefer to play up front.”

Article by Matthew789

Posted on September 3, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

