Bendtner Set For Early Return To England Due To Ongoing Groin Injury

Nicklas Bendtner’s Denmark were eliminated from the Fifa World Cup in late June, during the tournament Bendtner played through the pain barrier as he tried to rally his fellow Danish troops he managed a goal and assist in 3 games during the short time in South Africa.

Since then Bendtner has tried to enjoy his well earned break, but has spoken on the battle with the re-occuring groin problem, and how it can sometimes mysteriously come and go. It will now be a push for the Dane to be fit for Arsenal’s early pre season games against Barnet and Sturm Graz, if all goes well possibly the Emirates Cup could be a return date for him who knows.

Bendtner said . . .

I have spoken to Arsenal throughout the holiday and I am having a big scan when I return this week,” he said. “My whole body must be scanned to find out where the groin problem really comes from. I still feel pain and it is very frustrating

I still feel quite bad in my groin,” he told the Mirror newspaper. “Sadly it hasn’t been better during my holiday like I expected it to be, giving it nothing but rest, and that worries me a lot.

“I had hoped, and counted on, that a total break from football and training would heal the injury but it hasn’t happened.

“I don’t know where I am in relation to playing football. It doesn’t feel good at all – some mornings I can hardly get out of bed.

“It is not the best way to return to Arsenal like this, but the club and I have to get to the bottom of my problem now.”

Article by Matthew Collins

Posted on July 7, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

